SDO Caloocan Logo - High Resolution


To protect and promote the right of every Filipino to quality,
equitable, culture-based, and complete education where:

  • Students learn in a child-friendly, gender-sensitive, safe,
    and motivating environment;
  • Teachers facilitate learning and constantly nurture every learner;
    Administrators and staff, as stewards of institution, ensure an enabling
    and supportive environment for effective learning to happen;
  • Family, community, and other stakeholders are actively engaged and share
    responsibility for developing life-long learner.


We dream of Filipinos
Who passionately love their country
And whose values and competencies
Enable them to realize their full potential
And contribute meaningfully to building the nation.

As a learner-centered public institution,
the Department of Education
Continuously improves itself
To better serve its stakeholders

core values

  • Maka-Diyos

  • Makatao

  • Makakalikasan

  • Makabansa

our mandate

The Department of Education was established through the Education Decree of 1863 as the Superior Commission of Primary Instruction under a Chairman. The Education agency underwent many reorganization efforts in the 20th century in order to better define its purpose vis a vis the changing administrations and charters. The present day Department of Education was eventually mandated through Republic Act 9155, otherwise known as the Governance of Basic Education act of 2001 which establishes the mandate of this agency.

The Department of Education (DepEd) formulates, implements, and coordinates policies, plans, programs and projects in the areas of formal and non-formal basic education. It supervises all elementary and secondary education institutions, including alternative learning systems, both public and private; and provides for the establishment and maintenance of a complete, adequate, and integrated system of basic education relevant to the goals of national development.

Quality Policy

The SDO Caloocan, true to its mandate as a learner-centered institution, promoting quality, accessible, relevant, and liberating education for all, commits to:

S erve with excellence through productivity and good governance;
D evelop the full potentials of learners through contextualized curriculum implementation:
O perationalize the quality management system:
C ontinually improve services and processes towards customer
A dhere to regulatory and statutory requirements; and
L ive up to professional and ethical standards.

Para sa bata. Para sa bayan. Caloocan ang Number 1!

The Birth of a New Division            

              Before 1962, Caloocan was a municipality of Rizal Province and its schools were under the Division of Rizal. After the proclamation of Caloocan on February 16, 1962 as the 38th Chartered City of the Philippines by former president Diosdado Macapagal, Mr. Francisco Salamat was appointed City Superintendent on March 7, 1962. This appointment signaled the formal creation of a schools division in the City of Caloocan.

              The new schools division was formed out of the two (2) supervisory districts of Caloocan I and II, which were headed by Simplicio Ortega and Juan Lopez, respectively. Shortly after, Caloocan III was added with Prudencio Quilanita as the District Supervisor. The three (3) District Supervisor positions, which were national items, were returned to the Division of Rizal.


The Growth of the Division

            In 1970, the teaching force steadily grew and more supervisory positions were created to reach far-flung schools in the “bukid area”.  Several schoolhouses were constructed to solve accommodation problems. Cecilio Apostol High School, Tandang Sora High School, Toribio Teodoro Memorial High School and Maria Clara High School which were annexes of Caloocan High School became independent. Barangay High schools were also organized in line with the city government’s objective of democratizing access to education.



Integration of three municipalities

With the implementation of the Reorganization Plan in July, 1975, the regular municipal high schools and their annexes together with 60 elementary schools from Malabon, Navotas and Valenzuela were integrated with Caloocan City.  It was then that the Division was renamed Third District, Metro Manila.

            Additional school buildings and facilities were created and purchased under local and national funds to enhance educational growth and to support, “Equity and Quality in Education Towards National Unity and Progress.”  The Division had a new Division Office, more modern school buildings, additional school sites, and new Boy and Girl Scouts Headquarters.

            By virtue of re-divisioning, the three municipalities were again separated from the City of Caloocan forming the new division, the Division of Valenzuela, Malabon and Navotas or VALMANA in July, 1994.



10th Ave., cor. P. Sevilla St., Grace Park, Caloocan City